nobug-benny
10 years agoadd a check for 'gawk' to the makefile master
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 7 Oct 2009 00:24:51 +0000 (02:24 +0200)]
add a check for 'gawk' to the makefile

pipadoc needs gawk and the makefile ignores when it fails

10 years agoadd a table for supported platforms to the manual
Christian Thaeter [Tue, 6 Oct 2009 05:47:13 +0000 (07:47 +0200)]
add a table for supported platforms to the manual

10 years agouse awk for filtering the valgrind suppression file
Christian Thaeter [Tue, 6 Oct 2009 05:46:10 +0000 (07:46 +0200)]
use awk for filtering the valgrind suppression file

10 years agotest.sh: allow disabling valgrind per TEST
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 7 Sep 2009 22:19:07 +0000 (00:19 +0200)]
test.sh: allow disabling valgrind per TEST

10 years agoImproved building instructions
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 7 Sep 2009 20:27:21 +0000 (22:27 +0200)]
Improved building instructions

10 years agoMerge branch 'devel'
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 5 Sep 2009 01:14:01 +0000 (03:14 +0200)]
Merge branch 'devel'

* devel:
  FIX: better regex for vgsuppression

10 years agoFIX: better regex for vgsuppression devel
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 5 Sep 2009 00:59:12 +0000 (02:59 +0200)]
FIX: better regex for vgsuppression

10 years agoFIX: some doc fixes, typos, xrefs
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 4 Sep 2009 15:01:18 +0000 (17:01 +0200)]
FIX: some doc fixes, typos, xrefs

10 years agoI forgot to add Pablo to the AUTHORS list
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 4 Sep 2009 14:48:22 +0000 (16:48 +0200)]
I forgot to add Pablo to the AUTHORS list

10 years agoFIX: documentation for RESOURCE_ENTER was not updated
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 4 Sep 2009 13:53:55 +0000 (15:53 +0200)]
FIX: documentation for RESOURCE_ENTER was not updated

10 years agoFIX: resource leave had a NULL pointer dereference case
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 4 Sep 2009 13:53:08 +0000 (15:53 +0200)]
FIX: resource leave had a NULL pointer dereference case

10 years agofixes for make the release ready 200909.1
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 4 Sep 2009 04:27:44 +0000 (06:27 +0200)]
fixes for make the release ready

10 years agorename manual.conf to nobug_manual.conf
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 4 Sep 2009 03:43:09 +0000 (05:43 +0200)]
rename manual.conf to nobug_manual.conf

10 years agometafiles update
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 4 Sep 2009 03:32:38 +0000 (05:32 +0200)]
metafiles update

10 years agoMakefile update, change metafile generation
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 4 Sep 2009 03:31:53 +0000 (05:31 +0200)]
Makefile update, change metafile generation

10 years agopending cleanups
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 4 Sep 2009 03:01:45 +0000 (05:01 +0200)]
pending cleanups

10 years agoThe big documentation update
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 4 Sep 2009 02:27:57 +0000 (04:27 +0200)]
The big documentation update

10 years agopending cosmetics
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 4 Sep 2009 02:16:30 +0000 (04:16 +0200)]
pending cosmetics

10 years agopipadoc, make index generation optional in HEAD and PARA
Christian Thaeter [Thu, 3 Sep 2009 20:18:32 +0000 (22:18 +0200)]
pipadoc, make index generation optional in HEAD and PARA

just generate an anchor if no index description is given

10 years agopipadoc, asciidoc, allow HEAD without headline
Christian Thaeter [Thu, 3 Sep 2009 20:08:58 +0000 (22:08 +0200)]
pipadoc, asciidoc, allow HEAD without headline

a empty 'HEAD-- ;;' can be used to decrement a level at the end of a block.

10 years agoFIX: pipapoc, asciidoc, track actual head level
Christian Thaeter [Thu, 3 Sep 2009 19:57:44 +0000 (21:57 +0200)]
FIX: pipapoc, asciidoc, track actual head level

10 years agopipadoc: asciidoc, add INDEX only entry
Christian Thaeter [Thu, 3 Sep 2009 19:02:13 +0000 (21:02 +0200)]
pipadoc: asciidoc, add INDEX only entry

10 years agopipadoc: asciidoc support increment/decrement HEAD's
Christian Thaeter [Thu, 3 Sep 2009 19:01:20 +0000 (21:01 +0200)]
pipadoc: asciidoc support increment/decrement HEAD's

10 years agoFIX: pipapdoc, comment match regex, must match first occation
Christian Thaeter [Thu, 3 Sep 2009 19:00:10 +0000 (21:00 +0200)]
FIX: pipapdoc, comment match regex, must match first occation

10 years agoinclude source file and line number comments by asciidoc.pawk
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 29 Aug 2009 21:02:59 +0000 (23:02 +0200)]
include source file and line number comments by asciidoc.pawk

10 years agocallbacks for logging and aborting
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 29 Aug 2009 02:51:07 +0000 (04:51 +0200)]
callbacks for logging and aborting

10 years agoNOBUG_THREAD_DATA for thread local storage of user data
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 29 Aug 2009 02:48:44 +0000 (04:48 +0200)]
NOBUG_THREAD_DATA for thread local storage of user data

In singlethreaded programs this becomes a single global variable

10 years agoimprove the verbatim pipadoc plugin
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 29 Aug 2009 01:43:47 +0000 (03:43 +0200)]
improve the verbatim pipadoc plugin

10 years agomake indexes optional for the asciidoc plugin of pipadoc
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 28 Aug 2009 02:24:55 +0000 (04:24 +0200)]
make indexes optional for the asciidoc plugin of pipadoc

10 years agoinclude the VERBATIM pipadoc plugin for literate programming
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 28 Aug 2009 02:23:25 +0000 (04:23 +0200)]
include the VERBATIM pipadoc plugin for literate programming

10 years agomove pipadoc plugin loading behind plaintext file handling
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 28 Aug 2009 02:07:11 +0000 (04:07 +0200)]
move pipadoc plugin loading behind plaintext file handling

10 years agouse '#!/usr/bin/env bash' in test.sh to be little more compatible
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 17 Aug 2009 13:53:17 +0000 (15:53 +0200)]
use '#!/usr/bin/env bash' in test.sh to be little more compatible

10 years agoFIX: strict aliasing warning with certain gcc's
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 17 Aug 2009 12:52:16 +0000 (14:52 +0200)]
FIX: strict aliasing warning with certain gcc's

10 years agoremove some gnuisms from the Makefile
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 17 Aug 2009 09:15:07 +0000 (11:15 +0200)]
remove some gnuisms from the Makefile

10 years agouse gcc's format attribute to validate formatstring at compiletime
Christian Thaeter [Sun, 16 Aug 2009 19:50:30 +0000 (21:50 +0200)]
use gcc's format attribute to validate formatstring at compiletime

10 years agosome more docs about resourcetracking
Christian Thaeter [Sun, 16 Aug 2009 14:50:33 +0000 (16:50 +0200)]
some more docs about resourcetracking

10 years agono comment
Christian Thaeter [Sun, 16 Aug 2009 14:40:31 +0000 (16:40 +0200)]
no comment

10 years agoUse different mpool chunksizes for 32 vs 64 bit machines
Christian Thaeter [Sun, 16 Aug 2009 13:02:49 +0000 (15:02 +0200)]
Use different mpool chunksizes for 32 vs 64 bit machines

this makes the testsuite work, and assures that chunks hold the same
amount of object on each architecture.

10 years agoconverted the text to paths, less scaling problems
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 15 Aug 2009 20:24:25 +0000 (22:24 +0200)]
converted the text to paths, less scaling problems

10 years agoLogo with type
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 15 Aug 2009 20:14:05 +0000 (22:14 +0200)]
Logo with type

10 years agoa lot test fixes, whitespaces, new error messages
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 15 Aug 2009 19:47:28 +0000 (21:47 +0200)]
a lot test fixes, whitespaces, new error messages

10 years agoFIX: resourcetracker, NULL dereference in finding parents
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 15 Aug 2009 18:06:15 +0000 (20:06 +0200)]
FIX: resourcetracker, NULL dereference in finding parents

10 years agoFIX: resourcetracker, error messages
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 15 Aug 2009 17:58:19 +0000 (19:58 +0200)]
FIX: resourcetracker, error messages

10 years agotest harness fixes
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 15 Aug 2009 09:17:57 +0000 (11:17 +0200)]
test harness fixes

 * initialize default return to zero
 * remove TODO|PLANNED|FIXME|DEPRECATED|UNIMPLEMENTED|NOTREACHED
   from NOBUG_REGEX again

10 years agoFIX: tests makefile had a double variable declaration
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 15 Aug 2009 07:51:30 +0000 (09:51 +0200)]
FIX: tests makefile had a double variable declaration

10 years agocleanup in nobug.h, remove some cruft
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 15 Aug 2009 07:48:31 +0000 (09:48 +0200)]
cleanup in nobug.h, remove some cruft

10 years agoimprove formatting for RESOURCE_LIST and RESOURCE_DUMP
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 15 Aug 2009 05:26:27 +0000 (07:26 +0200)]
improve formatting for RESOURCE_LIST and RESOURCE_DUMP

10 years agocosmetics
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 15 Aug 2009 05:24:56 +0000 (07:24 +0200)]
cosmetics

10 years agoDefine NOBUG_TAB to be eight spaces by default
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 15 Aug 2009 05:23:14 +0000 (07:23 +0200)]
Define NOBUG_TAB to be eight spaces by default

10 years agonew resource_state() change implementation
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 14 Aug 2009 16:14:06 +0000 (18:14 +0200)]
new resource_state() change implementation

10 years agoremove some pending cruft
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 14 Aug 2009 16:05:54 +0000 (18:05 +0200)]
remove some pending cruft

10 years agoFIX: must not proceed checking for deadlocks when no resource is hold
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 14 Aug 2009 15:07:16 +0000 (17:07 +0200)]
FIX: must not proceed checking for deadlocks when no resource is hold

10 years agoThe non-threaded case for resource_leave looks simple
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 14 Aug 2009 10:12:26 +0000 (12:12 +0200)]
The non-threaded case for resource_leave looks simple

10 years agofirst cut of nobug_resource_leave()
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 12 Aug 2009 14:34:30 +0000 (16:34 +0200)]
first cut of nobug_resource_leave()

10 years agopending changes and stat functions for nobug_resource
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 12 Aug 2009 14:33:26 +0000 (16:33 +0200)]
pending changes and stat functions for nobug_resource

10 years agosome pending cleanups and fixes
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 12 Aug 2009 14:29:37 +0000 (16:29 +0200)]
some pending cleanups and fixes

10 years agoAdd a explicit nobug_destroy() to tear down nobug
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 12 Aug 2009 13:55:39 +0000 (15:55 +0200)]
Add a explicit nobug_destroy() to tear down nobug

10 years agoadd a basic resourcetracker test for low level facilities
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 12 Aug 2009 13:44:53 +0000 (15:44 +0200)]
add a basic resourcetracker test for low level facilities

10 years agoFIX: TEST_END can not use nobug facilities, since nobug might be shut down
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 12 Aug 2009 13:43:56 +0000 (15:43 +0200)]
FIX: TEST_END can not use nobug facilities, since nobug might be shut down

10 years agoadd shell function awareness to TESTs
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 10 Aug 2009 04:59:20 +0000 (06:59 +0200)]
add shell function awareness to TESTs

10 years agoWIP: entering resources, trying literate programming with pipadoc
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 25 Jul 2009 17:09:14 +0000 (19:09 +0200)]
WIP: entering resources, trying literate programming with pipadoc

10 years agoWIP: preparation for the new deadlock checker, structures init/destroy
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 25 Jul 2009 17:06:39 +0000 (19:06 +0200)]
WIP: preparation for the new deadlock checker, structures init/destroy

10 years agopipadoc update
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 25 Jul 2009 17:00:11 +0000 (19:00 +0200)]
pipadoc update

10 years agoadded logo, thanks to pablo lizardo for his artwork
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 18 Jul 2009 03:05:24 +0000 (05:05 +0200)]
added logo, thanks to pablo lizardo for his artwork

10 years agoFix: expect_return for the case no return value was defined in a test
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 03:07:57 +0000 (05:07 +0200)]
Fix: expect_return for the case no return value was defined in a test

10 years agoFew more exclusions for nobug messages in test.sh
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 03:07:11 +0000 (05:07 +0200)]
Few more exclusions for nobug messages in test.sh

10 years agosome source highlighting improvements
Christian Thaeter [Sun, 21 Jun 2009 03:24:41 +0000 (05:24 +0200)]
some source highlighting improvements

10 years agoMakefile update, better documentation handling
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 20 Jun 2009 05:36:37 +0000 (07:36 +0200)]
Makefile update, better documentation handling

10 years agoDocumentation beautifying
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 20 Jun 2009 05:35:16 +0000 (07:35 +0200)]
Documentation beautifying

10 years agolittle pipadoc cleanup, sort index case independenty
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 19 Jun 2009 07:19:35 +0000 (09:19 +0200)]
little pipadoc cleanup, sort index case independenty

10 years agogenerate the manual by pipadoc/asciidoc
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 17 Jun 2009 03:32:41 +0000 (05:32 +0200)]
generate the manual by pipadoc/asciidoc

10 years agoFixes from lumiera mpool.c
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 6 Jun 2009 15:36:27 +0000 (17:36 +0200)]
Fixes from lumiera mpool.c

10 years agopipadoc update, new upstream version with macro facility
Christian Thaeter [Sat, 30 May 2009 05:42:29 +0000 (07:42 +0200)]
pipadoc update, new upstream version with macro facility

10 years agoLearning graphviz, translating the resource state graph to inline dot
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 29 May 2009 20:15:30 +0000 (22:15 +0200)]
Learning graphviz, translating the resource state graph to inline dot

10 years agonew memory pool implementation
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 18 May 2009 15:01:58 +0000 (17:01 +0200)]
new memory pool implementation

10 years agollist.h update
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 15 May 2009 13:54:43 +0000 (15:54 +0200)]
llist.h update

10 years agoper thread resource stack links all 'resource_user's of one thread
Christian Thaeter [Sun, 8 Feb 2009 21:03:34 +0000 (22:03 +0100)]
per thread resource stack links all 'resource_user's of one thread

10 years agoPreparation for the upcoming deadlock detector
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 6 Feb 2009 00:05:10 +0000 (01:05 +0100)]
Preparation for the upcoming deadlock detector

split the resource_record into resource and user case. Remove generic
thread_id and make the checks (recursive) more explicit about the thread.
Refined logic of enter/state checks. Lots of format changes etc..

10 years agoguard around LLIST definition
Christian Thaeter [Sun, 15 Feb 2009 21:19:46 +0000 (22:19 +0100)]
guard around LLIST definition

10 years agoOops: missing files from the past commit
Luca Barbato [Sun, 8 Feb 2009 21:32:56 +0000 (22:32 +0100)]
Oops: missing files from the past commit

10 years agoMake valgrind optional
Luca Barbato [Sun, 8 Feb 2009 14:50:35 +0000 (15:50 +0100)]
Make valgrind optional

10 years agoaddress C99 usage while not asking for a C99 compiler in configure
Luca Barbato [Sun, 8 Feb 2009 14:19:56 +0000 (15:19 +0100)]
address C99 usage while not asking for a C99 compiler in configure

10 years agosmall documentation fixes
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 2 Feb 2009 17:33:56 +0000 (18:33 +0100)]
small documentation fixes

10 years agonew resource tracker, without deadlock detector so far
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 2 Feb 2009 17:33:26 +0000 (18:33 +0100)]
new resource tracker, without deadlock detector so far

10 years agofix thread id allocation
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 2 Feb 2009 17:31:12 +0000 (18:31 +0100)]
fix thread id allocation

10 years agoadd conditional pthread inclusion
Christian Thaeter [Mon, 2 Feb 2009 17:28:56 +0000 (18:28 +0100)]
add conditional pthread inclusion

10 years agorefine RESOURCE_ASSERT messages, fixup for state transition back to waiting
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 28 Jan 2009 03:10:02 +0000 (04:10 +0100)]
refine RESOURCE_ASSERT messages, fixup for state transition back to waiting

10 years agonew state-string gnerator, prepared for 'shared' state
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 28 Jan 2009 03:08:32 +0000 (04:08 +0100)]
new state-string gnerator, prepared for 'shared' state

10 years agoallow state transitions back to 'waiting', as needed for cond vars
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 28 Jan 2009 03:07:57 +0000 (04:07 +0100)]
allow state transitions back to 'waiting', as needed for cond vars

10 years agoadd NOBUG_FLAG_RAW() hack
Christian Thaeter [Tue, 27 Jan 2009 06:18:15 +0000 (07:18 +0100)]
add NOBUG_FLAG_RAW() hack

This makes flag pointers accessible for macros which take just a flagname

10 years agosilence warning on ubuntu
Christian Thaeter [Sun, 25 Jan 2009 00:36:25 +0000 (01:36 +0100)]
silence warning on ubuntu

10 years agoremove the line number from C++ initializers, give them a defined name
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 23 Jan 2009 09:31:23 +0000 (10:31 +0100)]
remove the line number from C++ initializers, give them a defined name

C++ initialized flags have an associated dummy integer called
'nobug_cppflag_##flagname', this can be used to pass it to singletons to
enforce construction order.

10 years agoRevert NOBUG_EXTERN, using 'extern "C"' from C++ is simpler
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 23 Jan 2009 07:24:33 +0000 (08:24 +0100)]
Revert NOBUG_EXTERN, using 'extern "C"' from C++ is simpler

This reverts commit d23f8bba4c2b6fff28a0d9d166c6e8d08cd1306f.

10 years agoFIX: dummy initializers must not be static to prevent compiler warning
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 23 Jan 2009 04:12:27 +0000 (05:12 +0100)]
FIX: dummy initializers must not be static to prevent compiler warning

10 years agoFIX: __LINE__ expansion was not triggered
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 23 Jan 2009 04:05:22 +0000 (05:05 +0100)]
FIX: __LINE__ expansion was not triggered

10 years agodefine a NOBUG_EXTERN which handles C linkage for C++ programs
Christian Thaeter [Fri, 23 Jan 2009 04:04:05 +0000 (05:04 +0100)]
define a NOBUG_EXTERN which handles C linkage for C++ programs

10 years agoadd NOBUG_DECLARE_ONLY magic
Christian Thaeter [Thu, 22 Jan 2009 08:15:48 +0000 (09:15 +0100)]
add NOBUG_DECLARE_ONLY magic

When NOBUG_DECLARE_ONLY is defined to 1 then all definitions
(NOBUG_DEFINE_FLAG_* currently) become declarations. This can be used to
maintain simple header only configurations of larger flag hierarchies
(see documentation example)

10 years agofix initialization race (weakly)
Christian Thaeter [Thu, 22 Jan 2009 05:57:22 +0000 (06:57 +0100)]
fix initialization race (weakly)

this now ensures that initialization is at least run once, under extreme
rare conditions it might be run twice which shall be harmless in almost any
case.

10 years agomake initialization race free
Christian Thaeter [Thu, 22 Jan 2009 02:58:13 +0000 (03:58 +0100)]
make initialization race free

bless automatic initialization in presence of flag initialization
official. This was always supported but thought for deprecation. As we see
it will be much simpler keeping it, especially with the C++ flags
initialization.

10 years agoreplace NOBUG_ASSERTN_ by NOBUG_RESOURCE_ASSERT
Christian Thaeter [Wed, 21 Jan 2009 05:22:29 +0000 (06:22 +0100)]
replace NOBUG_ASSERTN_ by NOBUG_RESOURCE_ASSERT

 * ASSERTN_ was only used by the resourcetracker
 * RESOURCE_ASSERT does a complete resourcedump before aborting